Skip to content

Reflection on 2010

January 2, 2011

Wow – this year has passed by quickly. Life was full of journeys in 2010. We started 2010 with a cruise in January which we enjoyed so much we have decided to repeat it again January 2011. In March, I changed jobs and started working at the American Banjo Museum, that was a good move, reduced my stress level 100%.

In June, I enrolled in Rose State College to begin my journey to get a degree in MultiMedia Web Development. Let me brag a little stating I got an A in the three classes I had, Composition I, E Commerce, and Digital Imaging. Not bad for someone who has been out of school for over 35 years.

In July my iphone app “OKC: in and around” was launched. This was in partnership with Sutro Media, who has an excellent program for travel apps. Sales on it have been steady, so I decided to write another one and have started one for Oklahoma on a Budget, this will include things to do that are free or admission under $5.

In September I was approached to work with Miles Media as independent contractor to sell ads for TravelOK.com, the web site for Oklahoma Tourism.  I have continued to write for Examiner.com throughout the year, not as much as I did in 2009 but am getting more and more hits on the examiner pages. With my days at the Banjo Museum, selling for Miles Media and going to school it has been a busy year.

Dan and I enjoyed riding in 2010 I put 8,000 miles on my bike. Our  rides included a “Five State Run” a 300 mile poker run that starts in Guymon and includes roads in  Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Colorado, and Kansas.   This was my second poker run. We did a weekend trip to Idabel and Broken Bow stopping at several state parks. We did a ride to Fort Scott, Kansas to meet a group of riders from the Wind Theraphy group. Took a weekend and rode to Elk City  to the Natl Route 66 Museum and the Washita Battlefield. Then in November we rode with Star Chapter 453 across Talimena Skyline Drive and spend the night in Mena, AR. Oh and by the way it was 34 degrees when we left Shawnee for Mena, AR, but it warmed up and was a pleasant ride in the afternoon. When we got up the next morning in Mena it was 31 degrees with frost covering the bikes. You can see Dan had fun writing my name on the bike seat to show the frost, brrr. Looking forward to the journeys that will come in 2011.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

