Skip to content

Social Media at Rose State

February 1, 2011

As I stated in an earlier post part of my journey through life recently has been going back to school at Rose State College. I’m into the third week of my Social Media class and although I had some of things in place as my blog, Facebook, Twitter, and Hootsuite account, I have picked up on a lot of extras to enhance them and make them more efficient.  Which was what I was hoping to get out of the class. One thing I was unfamiliar with were trackbacks.  After doing some research I learned that this is a link that comes to your site whenever another blogger has linked to your blog. This is a way bloggers can keep track of who has linked to their site and builds relationships between bloggers. It also increases viability for your blog if you link to another, the trackback is viewed by all the readers of that blog site. The followers of the other site may click on the trackback to see what you had to say about the post.  Incoming links also aid in search engines optimization for  both blogs. Keep in mind that both parties have to have trackbacks enabled. According to solidblogger WordPress has trackbacks by default while Blogspot does not, a third party tool is needed  for trackbacks on Blogspot.

After doing some research  into what  trackbacks are I realized  I had a trackback on my blog and didn’t know it. I’m looking forward to fine tuning my social media sites, subscribe today so you can keep up with the changes that are sure to come.

###

If you enjoyed this post please leave a comment and subscribe via RSS feed or with  email subscription.

Leave a Reply

