Skip to content

What does you social presence say about you?

March 27, 2011

My social media class watched a lecture by Tom Krieglstein Director of Operations at Red Rover. Krieglstein addressed college students on their social media presence and the impact it has on their digital presence.  That today our digital presence is greater than our physical presence. Five years ago this was not the case and our digital presence is rapidly growing each year and will greatly overshadow out physical presence. In another blog entry I came to realize how true this is. I have one physical address yet listed fourteen places I can be found online. Then today I realized I left out my Yelp and UrbanSpoon profiles. Wonder now what other ones are out there that I have forgotten.

Figures show that ninety-three percent of students have a Facebook and/or Twitter account. One of the questions Krigelstein asked was what does your digital presence say about you. Do you use your social presence to present a positive image? Seventy percentage of employers do a search online of applicants to narrow down those that will be seriously considered for hire. Are you showcasing your talents in the work place or are you talking about the all night party and how you got fired from your last job?

It also stated that there is a 5 year generation gap in technology. I feel I am the exception to the rule as I have had a social presence for several years and use Facebook, Twitter, and Linkedin to connect with colleagues in the tourism industry not only to establish relationships but to keep abreast of what is going on in the industry. I have made it one of my priorities to keep abreast of technology changes and adapt to the changes.

On VideoJug I found this informative and cute clip on “How to use Social Media to Get A Job”. Love the little blue guy on it!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 12:59 pm

    One physical address, yet so many cyber ones… it’s amazing, isn’t it? Several weeks ago I watched a video that espoused we’re all cyborgs already. Odd, but when you think about it, half of our persona is online, and half of what we ‘know’ is digitized. It’s an amazing time to be alive.

    5 year gap? Maybe there are small changes with each 5 years, but nothing radically different. I think when you go 5 years, and then 5 more, and then 5 more, you start really noticing it more. I agree with you, there are some exceptions out there.

Leave a Reply

