Skip to content

Widgets galore

April 4, 2011

In Social Media we have been studying widgets and badges. I became acquainted with widgets several years ago when I  began this blog, at the time they were a new concept for me. I assumed the word “widget” was a word added to the dictionary in the last decade or so due to the development of widgets to be used on the web. But when I did some research it seems as if “widget” was in the dictionary back in 1930 and defined as a noun for gadget.

WordPress defines widgets as:

“Widget is a fancy word for tools or content that you can add, arrange, and remove from the sidebars of your blog. Widgets make it easy to customize the content of your blog sidebar.”

I have several widgets in the right side bar of this blog. One is a widget for Twitter which feeds the latest tweets into the widget, then there is a widget for Facebook, Flicker, Examiner.com, and one for my travel app “OKC: in and around”. Click on any of these and it takes you to the site for each account. Instead of overloading my side bar with widgets I used the Gravater Hovercard to connect with some of my other accounts, as LinkedIn, Foursquare, YouTube, and FriendFeed.

Seems as if the use for widgets is unlimited. There are lots of sources to create your own widget so let the fun begin, widgets for the blog, widgets for the desktop, widgets for websites . . . hum wonder if there is widget to remind the hubby to take out the trash. (-:

One Comment leave one →
  1. Donna wilson permalink
    April 5, 2011 3:25 am

    Great job! I enjoy reading your posts and especially like the Janet widget! Love your saying under your pic… So true!

Leave a Reply

