Skip to content

Traveling backwards for a moment

April 17, 2011

I’ve always said life is a journey, but that journey is not always forwards. Sometimes it takes you backwards to unpleasant memories and pleasant things. The two intertwine making us who we are. Most big trucks and equipment have a warning beep when they begin to go in reverse. Wish the same where true when life puts me in reverse, I would like a warning that this is going to happen. Yesterday afternoon I had some unpleasant memories come flooding back to me, that were quite overwhelming. Yet, that morning I had found a box of old recipes from my dads mom that brought pleasant memories. They were dated from 1952 to 1967 and as I went through them I found several dishes that I remembered from years past. Well, actually they were mostly desserts, cakes, pies, and jello salads. Some have turned into holiday traditions as the Cherry Bing Salad. Both of my grandmothers were wonderful cooks especially when it came to desserts. And this was a time when the cakes did not come out of a box and the pie crusts were not frozen. I remember Grandpa Mounts always saying there were only two kinds of pies that he liked, “Hot and Cold” and this I have always agreed with. My grandmothers may have been responsible for my love of eating, but I did not inherit their love or talent for cooking. I wonder what my grand kids will remember about me? Defiantly not my cooking, maybe my love of travel and motorcycles. Hanna has called me her Hippie Biker Grandma. Yes, guess that will definitely take presidence over cooking when they remember me 50 years from now.

But from reverse we must go forward. We pull into a parking spot, then we back out and go forward again. Even at the airport the plane must go backwards from the hangar before it can take off again. Most of our cars have a few scratches and dents but they still keep running. And lets not forget the speed bumps that make us slow down and take it easy for a short time.

It’s not about the destination, it’s all about the journey…..and that journey takes us many places through many valleys and over many hills.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Donna Wilson permalink
    May 11, 2011 3:55 pm

    A very philosophical post! Very True!

Leave a Reply

